New Special Teams Coach

Discussions on any and all things OU men's sports
Oklahombre

New Special Teams Coach

Post by Oklahombre »

An analyst. Top ten squad from San Diego State. I hope this helps.

RussC

Post by RussC »

I have no knowledge of what went on inside the OU football program last couple years with respect to special teams but we could all see the poor results on the field, of course. I am curious to know if Jay Nunez was just bad at the job, or if he just wasn’t given what he needed to be successful (and yet JN parlayed his stint as OU ST analyst into a ST coordinator spot at Bama, no less).
#Mentally In Portal
Oklahombre

Post by Oklahombre »

I was listening to KREF while doing some yard work. I didn't catch it all but they were going over all the games BV had lost due to field goals missed, botched KO at OSU and Freemans fumbles. Not all of them cost the game but took away from tying or outright winning without the mistakes. They were up to 5 games when I turned it off.

Hopefully BV gives the new coach the very best atheletes on the team, just like Bob did in his early years. If not, line up all those power walk-ons and drill them on just one job to do and do it right. :BV:
soonerindallas

Post by soonerindallas »

Sounds like a good hire.
Fly

Post by Fly »

One thing about BV, he gives those coaches the time for evolution, & it does not work he gets someone that will. He is very good
Head coach!
🪰Fly :BV: :ou:
WishBone

Post by WishBone »

A Welcoming and Excellent Hire with Credentials to back it up.
Opinions are still "OK" ...Correct?
WishBone

Post by WishBone »

A lil About the new ST Coordinator Doug Deakin:

Doug Deakin has been with San Diego State for a total 17 seasons, a long association which started as a student-athlete and now continues as a full-time assistant coach.
He has been the special teams coordinator for six seasons now, and also served as the tight ends coach during the 2018 campaign.