The Elephant in the Room

Forum to discuss the best softball team in the country
MsProudSooner

The Elephant in the Room

Post by MsProudSooner »

I'm not a softball expert by any means but here is my theory:

Obviously, Jordy leaving left us in a huge bind as far as pitching goes.  I know you recruit pitchers every year just like you should recruit quarterbacks every year.  But when you have a pitcher like Jordy on your staff, it's only logical that the great pitchers a year behind her might decide to look elsewhere.  You'll get a good pitcher but probably not a great pitcher.  While your great pitcher is dominating, the other pitchers have a chance to get better out of the limelight.  By the time your great pitcher is a Junior or Senior, the next great phenom will look at playing for your team. It's like an assembly line with different pitchers at different stages of development.  A wrench was thrown into our assembly line.  Maxwell is very good and we were fortunate to get her but she's not as good as Jordy.  We have a good pitching staff but none of them are great.  You need at least one great pitcher.  Perhaps that explains the performance of some of the other players.  They feel more pressure to make great defensive plays which results in mistakes.  They feel more pressure when they are at bat and haven't produced like they are capable of producing.  In turn, when the defense and hitting isn't as good as usual, it puts more pressure on the pitching to be dominant. All of this results in everything being out of synch.
jmac11

Post by jmac11 »

Yep, jordy leaving left us in a bind. Losing her and storako in the same year- hard to fill those shoes. And in Jordy's case, those shoes may never be filled. She's one of the very best pitchers I've ever seen.
TN Sooner

Post by TN Sooner »

I get the Jordy conversation and I wish she hadn’t left. And, to a certain extent, it’s the classic “what happens if the road takes a different fork”.